The Constitution of the Third Republic of Icenia



VIII. States Within Icenia

States are administrative sub-territories allowing for unique towns and cultures to exist within Icenia while maintaining a unitary state and a unified national identity.

(a) States Rights

States are permitted to govern and manage the following limited subjects within their borders: building codes, permits, zoning, and derelictions of non-federally owned properties; non-military public transportation (roads, rails, canals, etc); industrial facilities (farms, factories, wealth storage, etc); taxes; and public holidays.

States are also permitted to establish their own judicial systems to adjudicate local issues, enforcing any rulings within their borders through whatever means they are legally capable of.

States are permitted to appoint a non-voting representative to the Senate. The Senate may permit a State to govern and manage additional subjects via a Senate Bill. The Senate may only revoke granted additional subjects via an Enhanced Senate Bill.

(b) Restrictions on States

States are not permitted to declare independence from Icenia; engage in foreign relations (declaring war, signing treaties, etc); keep custody of pearls or give pearl-time as a sentence unless otherwise given leave by the Government; grant membership (state citizenship) to non-Icenians; or claim new territory.

(c) Formation and Dissolution of States

To form a state, the citizen wishing to be the founder must develop and negotiate a plan with the Government to determine: its borders; its members; its primary settlement; and its form of local government. Once a final draft has been agreed, it shall be submitted as an Enhanced Senate Bill which, if passed, will establish the State.

States can likewise be dissolved via an Enhanced Senate Bill.